We have introduced a new step in the template creation workflow. There are still the same two methods to create a template: you can start from scratch by clicking on the Messages tab and then the Templates option from the left-hand menu; or by creating a message and then selecting “save message as template” from the tools icon (the gear) in the top right corner.
A template can now be now be in one of three states
- “Working/Never Published”
Two new columns on the templates grid called “Status” and “Last Published” indicates the state for each template.
What is difference between the three?
Status field displays “Live” and Last Published field displays date of last publish.
This status indicates the template is available for users to select to create a message. It will be available on the template selection page.
Working/Never Published Status:
Status field displays “Working” and Last Published field will be EMPTY.
This status indicates the template is currently in edit mode and has NEVER been published. It will NOT be displayed on the template selection page.
Status field displays “Working” and Last Published field displays date of last publish.
This status indicates that you are editing an existing live template. Users will continue to see the current published version and you can edit a “Working version” of the template. Your changes to the template will only take affect when you Publish it.l
This grid displays all of your templates in a sortable list, along with several useful data points, like when the template was created, how many messages have been created using that template, and whether the template is Live or in Working status. The available actions on a particular template are determined by several factors: whether or not the template has been published, the template’s status (Live or Working), and if the template has been used to send out a message.
Let’s quickly review the available actions, and when they apply:
- Edit- The edit function is available for all templates. Simply select the template you want to edit and click the edit button.
- Rename- All templates can be renamed.
- Publish- Before a template can be used to create an email message, it must be published. Publishing shifts the template from Working to Live status. For this reason, only templates that are in Working status can be published.
- Revert- The revert function is only applicable for Working templates that have already been published. Let’s say you have created several messages with a particular template, but it has become a bit outdated and you want to make a few simple changes; there is always the chance that you may not be happy with the changes you’ve made. Revert will erase the changes and return the template to the last time it was published.
- Copy- The copy function works as a “Save As” — it creates a new template with a new name.
- Delete- Delete is only available for templates that have not been used to create a message. Real Magnet will not allow you to delete any template that has been used to create a message.
How do I make the template live?
When you create a new template by definition it is in “Working” status. Once you have completed the template and want to make it available for people to use to create messages you must “Publish” it. There are two ways to publish a template:
- Within the editor click the gear icon on the top right and then click the “Publish” link
- From the templates grid select the template and click the blue Publish button.
Once the template has been published you will see the the last published date displayed in the grid.
Can I edit a template that has already been published?
Yes. Select the template you want to edit and click the red “Edit” button. The status changes to “Working”, BUT the template is still available for creating messages. Essentially you are now editing a “Working Copy” of the template. Once you complete your edits you can “Publish” the template again the the newest version will be available.
If I edit a template what happens to existing messages?
Nothing happens to existing messages when you edit a template.
Template Mode vs. Message Mode
Because the experience of creating/editing of templates and messages are almost identical, it is very important to be aware of which mode you are in. On the upper left corner of the editor an icon is displayed indicating which mode you are in.
Understanding Themes: Why Lock or Unlock Template Themes?
When creating a template, you have the option to create themes for that template. Any theme created in the Template Editing Mode can only be modified from within the template module. When you are in the Message Mode you will see the themes, but NOT be able to edit them.
Additionally, there is an option to “Lock Template Themes”. By enabling this option you prevent ALL users from creating their own themes associated with the template. They will of course be able to use any of the themes that you created for the template.
If you want to allow users to create their own themes, leave this option un-checked. If a template’s themes are not locked, users will be given the option to ‘+Add new theme’ via a link under the Current Theme menu on the left.
Including an Unsubscribe Link in Your Created Template
Unsubscribe links are required in all messages. Real Magnet unsubscribe links are included in Templates. If you use one of the Real Magnet’s custom templates, or if you use a template from our template library, the unsubscribe link is already present.
If however you are creating your own template, then it is your responsibility to include the unsubscribe link.
Follow these steps to create an unsubscribe link for your template:
- First, add in a WYSIWYG zone where you want the unsubscribe link to be.
- Then, create your text. For example, the typical format: “click here to unsubscribe.”
- Simply highlight the text you want to link (either the whole sentence, or just the word ‘here’) and then click on the linking tool, which looks like a chain link, from the toolbar.
- A window will open, and you will see a drop-down menu titled Link Type.
- Click on the drop-down menu and select ‘unsubscribe link.’
- Now you will see a second drop-down menu titled Unsubscribe Link Label. Select “Real Magnet Unsubscribe Link” from the list to anchor your unsubscribe link.
Users who have custom unsubscribe links from Real Magnet will also see these custom links in this second drop-down menu.
By default Real Magnet will NOT allow you to publish a template without an unsubscribe link.
If you would like more information on custom unsubscribe links, or would like the ability to publish a template without including an unsubscribe link, please contact Real Magnet Customer Support.